However long…

I am convinced that I could love you forever 
however long that may be.
I think I could do late night snack runs with you when you break from your homework.
I want to do grocery store visits 
while holding your hand as we walk down the isles.
I want your sleepy morning kisses and your worn out late night snuggles 
like I am the stuffed animal you slept with when you were six
to keep the monsters away.
Give me your cold shaking hands when the world has weighed to much. Give me your darkest thoughts and your deepest regrets and every ounce of joy you’ve ever felt towards the people you thought would never hurt you.
I want your fingers playing piano keys on my ribs,
and my teeth tapping xylophone ensembles on your collarbone
In the same way I want your tears on my shoulder and cooking together and chores done in unison like dishes and laundry or the silently loving when words fail to speak.
I love you and I am convinced I could love you forever
however long that may be.

-Jennifer.Hall

Leave a Reply

